JOSÉ DROUIN

Born in Montréal, José Drouin settled in Saint-Modeste in the Lower St. Lawrence region in 1978. She opened her first pottery workshop and made bowls, pots, jugs and various utilitarian objects. In 1985, she moved to Mont-Saint-Hilaire. She attended a workshop conducted by Russell Kagan who initiated her to a new raku technique which reinforced her passion for this firing method.

“As a ceramist, I must struggle with many elements before obtaining an interesting piece. With the gas kiln as well as with the raku one, I take much pleasure at mastering chance and the uncontrollable. I love surprises and the unexpected is what fascinates me. When I place pieces into the kiln, I imagine the best for each of them; that is the final test. Sometimes it’s pure joy, sometimes it’s a disappointment. Humility and perseverance are my best allies in this quest. Even after 30 years at this work, I still have uncertainties and challenges. What dominates is the passion for a craft which is at once time complex and stimulating.”

Don't miss the wonderful little documentary on raku which will inform you about a spectacular cooking technique. You will find here a very friendly interview explaining my career as a ceramist. This interview was conducted by TVR9. Unfortunately it is only in French.

MARIE-ANGE SAMON

In 2005, José formed a partnership with Marie-Ange Samon. Both decided to give the name Ne faites pas l’autruche (Don’t behave like an ostrich) to their boutique. This was in order to remind passer-bys that there are genuine professional craftswomen in Québec, impassioned creators who love their craft and wish to make a living out of it. That is the reason for the name... Don’t act as if you didn’t see us!

Marie-Ange Samon was born in Grenoble in the French Alps. She was very young when she started travelling and discovering the world’s other cultures. As an adult, she initiated herself to weaving on a high warp loom and created contemporary tapestries which allowed her to fulfill her passion for colours and matter. Arrived in Québec in 1992, she attempted on pottery, an art that she had learned while she was living in Boston. New country, new profession.

“I draw my inspiration from my roots (weaving and travelling) in the sacred universal memories. The places from which I draw my inspiration are loaded with symbols. Through myth figments, through fragments and story outlines, I wish to create a dream space. I love earth because of its memory which conveys a part of the ceramist’s thought through the centuries”.

  • Boutique Etsy
  • Site Facebook
  • Site Instagram
  • Site Pinterest

© 2020 by José Drouin ceramist. All rights reserved.

581 ch. de la Montagne
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
(Quebec) Canada
J3G 4S6  450.464.0576
Logo_Autruche_wix_2.png

JOSÉ DROUIN

Native de Montréal, José Drouin s’installe, en 1978, à Saint-Modeste dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent. Elle y ouvre son premier atelier de poterie et y fait des bols, des pots, des pichets et divers objets utilitaires. En 1985, elle déménage à Mont-Saint-Hilaire. Elle participe alors à un atelier animé par Russell Kagan qui l’initie à une nouvelle technique de raku ce qui renforce sa passion pour cette méthode de cuisson.

« En tant que céramiste, je dois me battre avec plusieurs éléments avant d’arriver à une pièce intéressante. Au four à gaz comme au four à raku, je m’amuse beaucoup à maîtriser le hasard et l’incontrôlable. J’aime les surprises, l’inattendu, c’est ce qui me fascine. Lorsque j’enfourne, j’imagine le meilleur pour chaque pièce; c’est le test final. Parfois c’est la joie totale, et parfois la déception. L’humilité et la persévérance sont mes meilleures alliées dans cette quête. Même après plus de 30 ans de métier, j’ai toujours des questions et des défis. Ce qui domine, c’est la passion pour un métier à la fois complexe et stimulant. »

Ne manquez pas le formidable petit documentaire sur le raku qui vous renseignera sur une technique de cuisson spectaculaire. Visionnez une entrevue très sympathique expliquant mon parcours de céramiste. Cette entrevue a été réalisée par TVR9.

MARIE-ANGE SAMON

En 2005, José s’associe à Marie-Ange Samon. Toutes deux décident de baptiser leur boutique Ne faites pas l’autruche. C’est pour rappeler aux passants qu’il y a, au Québec, de vraies artisanes professionnelles, des créatrices passionnées par leur métier et qui veulent en vivre. D’où le nom de notre boutique : Ne faites pas l'autruche!

Marie-Ange Samon est née à Grenoble dans les Alpes françaises. Elle commence à voyager très jeune et à découvrir les autres cultures du monde. Adulte, elle s’initie au tissage sur métier haute-lisse et crée des tapisseries contemporaines qui lui permettent de conjuguer sa passion pour la couleur et la matière. Arrivée au Québec en 1992, elle se lance dans la poterie, art auquel elle s’était initiée lors d’un séjour à Boston. Nouveau pays, nouveau métier.

« Je trouve mon inspiration dans mes racines (le tissage et les voyages) dans la mémoire sacrée universelle. Les lieux dont je m’inspire sont chargés de symboles. Par des bribes de mythes, des fragments de pensées, des ébauches de récits, je souhaite créer un espace de rêve. J’aime la terre à cause de sa mémoire qui véhicule à travers les siècles une part de la pensée des céramistes. »

  • Boutique Etsy
  • Site Facebook
  • Site Instagram
  • Site Pinterest

© 2020 par José Drouin céramiste. Tous droits réservés.

581, ch. de la Montagne,
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
(Québec) Canada
J3G 4S6  450.464.0576
Logo de la boutique Ne faites pas l'autruche